It is currently Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:15 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
 CNC Router Build 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:18 pm
Posts: 1150
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Well CNC Router build as come to a complete standstill as works as taken over . The router would have been really handy on current job but hopefully will be able to get on with it after Easter .
Current job is a large automata for a Easter display so quite a fun job really . But big router would make it a hole lot simpler though.

One part of mechanism will all be painted eventually .
D1


Sat Feb 18, 2017 9:58 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:36 pm
Posts: 316
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Well, I have finally learned enough Fusion360 to get me going.

In this video I start with Adaptive Clearing with a gentle helix plunge at 200 mm/min feed in order to remove material. Down to a depth of 6mm. Then it opens up the circle with a WOC of 0.6 with a much faster Feed Rate of 550mm/mm. and so on.

After that, there is one final pass of Contour milling (0.2mm) using climb milling.

Finally, a tool change to do a pass with the chamfer tool.

Spindle revs: 1900
End mill: 8mm three flute YG-1 Alu Power with a 45 degree helix designed for cutting aluminium.
Coolant, none, just a vacuum to get rid of the swarf.

These were just practice ball bearing holes using various end mills. My first project with this Sieg SX2.7 CNC conversion is going to be an automatic tool change.

*Shown at actual speed throughout.*

Edward



Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:54 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:18 pm
Posts: 1150
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Hi Edward ya getting a really nice finish their . Must admit i never bother with different passes always in to much of a hurry . One day i will have a go at getting high quality finish but at mo not that important .
I am going to order rest of stuff for router just so i can get it in this financial year not sure when its going to be finished though .
Look forward to seeing your automatic tool changer .
D1


Sun Feb 26, 2017 11:57 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:36 pm
Posts: 316
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Hi D1,

Hope you can now get on with your router project, it's been a long time:)

Well, same with me and CNC, it took me ages, now I am beginning to see the potential at last. I still like to use the other smaller machine for manual tasks, like squaring up edges after cutting, as it's faster.

After the Tool changer, I will go back to my video motion control projects, I have a new pan/tilt that I started, with tiny HD's, so very light, and I want to finish that. Then I want to make something quite portable too.

So lots in the pipeline for this year, I am enjoying the semi-retirement, more time to potter about in the man cave:)

I know you are a CamBam follower, but Fusion360 is very good once you pass the learning curve, I am finding it easier and easier as I persevere. A lot of the settings can be templates, so you don't have to fill in boxes all the time.


Edward


PS. Yes the finish is pretty good and shiny. I also got myself a face mill, well, I got two, the first one was no use. I prefer the one with only fur inserts and at 45 degrees. The finish is OK, but not completely mirror like, you still get some minor tool marks that go out easily with a bit of grey Scotch pad.


Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:27 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:18 pm
Posts: 1150
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Hi Edward i may look at Fusion 360 again it prob makes sense just always jump to CamBam when a job comes in .
The router still at stand still but i have ordered most of the electronics and motors now.
Found a old desktop in my loft that will make a great case . Not my idea lots of other people done the same .
[flickr]Image2017-03-06 13.42.44 by D 1, on Flickr[/flickr]
Will prob be on the hunt for more skip find pcs now . I like re using things and realised you can convert the power supply to a nice desk top supply

Think spent £6 on voltage regulator and Volt Amp gauge and some banana plugs for conversion . So another little project on the list oh dear list getting long these days .
D1


Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:34 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:36 pm
Posts: 316
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Hi D1, Yes, good idea about using the old computer box, that's a start! . I have a few of these, only they are old Macs, and they are still worth a bit on Ebay. I will be making my own box from scratch, I think. At the moment all is loose on the bench, far enough from the swarf, apart from when I use the face mill, which tends to spray chips all over the place.

I have finished the first prototype of the manual quick release drawbar. It works OK but it needs a bit of fine tuning. Once I am happy pictures to come. I need to test it cutting something heavy weight, as I don't know the exact number of turns to tighten the drawbar with the Belleville washers in place, I have tried 2 full turns after tightening with the fingers. It appears very firm. I don't want the tool holder to come out of the spindle and go flying across the room!.


I am now getting more confident with the CNC and reasonably OK with Fusion. If you ever decide to use it and have some questions, I will be glad to help if I can. But only the Cam side, as I still use Solidworks for designing.

Edward


Mon Mar 06, 2017 11:45 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:18 pm
Posts: 1150
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Hi Edward it was the drawing side of Fusion that didnt seem to work for me so as you say it may be a case of just using the CAM side of it.
This series of vids gives a very in depth guide to a electronics encloser build .

Prob a bit to in depth actually but covers all bases . Have you set up a Z probe on your mill ? Never bothered on my current set up same with limit switches but decided to do it all properly on router . With the mill it was a case of i need it working quickly then it just stayed like that . It would be nice to redo all the electronics on the mill to but that well down the list maybe when router up and running .
Very impressed with my spindle motor by the way feels very well made and heavy very heavy . The entire router is going to weigh a lot hope the shed floor can take it :D .
D1


Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:28 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 3:36 pm
Posts: 316
Post Re: CNC Router Build
I haven't fitted limit sensors yet. I have overrun the Y carriage a few times, but the drivers I am using stop automatically as soon as they sense a stall, and they work well at it:)


Manual quick release drawbar, now finished, updated video showing the lever mechanism.

Edward




Fri Mar 10, 2017 7:17 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:38 pm
Posts: 467
Location: Exmouth, Western Australia
Post Re: CNC Router Build
It's been a bit quiet lately so I thought I'd let you see what I've been doing with my CNC router...



Kit

_________________
http://pipsqueakstudios.blogspot.com.au/


Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:40 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:18 pm
Posts: 1150
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Hi kit the forum is very quite these days inevitable really with the amount of timelapse out their .
Still it got us all making different things which is good .
Router looking good and working well i have one of those Makita trimmers very solid great for your cnc . Hope to get back onto mine now my current job is finished . Couldn't resist doing a quick vid

So if ya in the Barnsley area call into http://cannonhallfarm.co.uk/ for a perfect fun day out .
Ps wish i could play something :(
Cheers D1


Sat Mar 25, 2017 4:31 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:38 pm
Posts: 467
Location: Exmouth, Western Australia
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Nice egg machine, not so shure about the music. Is she singing "Sugar Hippo"?

My current machine is doing some useful stuff but is much in need of it's next upgrade to reduce flexing and improve the accuracy. No plans for a machine that can cut metal at the moment.
I've been spending a lot of time recently using the experience with steppers etc. gained from Timescapes to build a semi-automatic weaving loom so, as you say, we've all been using the experience to build other things.

Have you tried the new v1.0 of CamBam? It has some useful additions such as spline curves and the ability to vectorise bitmap images. There is also a website for third party add-ons to CamBam at the link below. I particularly like the 'v-engrave' add-on which makes the sort of beautiful engraved text I've only seen from the expensive 'V-Carve' software before.

http://www.atelier-des-fougeres.fr/Camb ... oc_EN.html

Kit

PS You could always learn to play the shovel...


_________________
http://pipsqueakstudios.blogspot.com.au/


Sat Mar 25, 2017 7:24 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:18 pm
Posts: 1150
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Wow thats some good shovel playing . Soz ya dont like Sugarr Hippo but each to his own me a big Cocteau Twins fan take it your more of a blues fella.
Didnt realise CamBam had updated thought development had more or less stopped will check it out .
I had a look at Fusion again just on the CAM side and Edward is prob right it does offer some good machining strategies . A auto tool changer would be a good idea though as it does incurage a lot of tool changing . So for the time been i will stick with CamBams quick and dirty approach.
As for your router now its working it should be difficult to re machine new bits . Have you consider using Acrilic/lexan tougher than wood but a lot easier to machine than Ali . In fact in machines very nicely i use acrylic a lot :D
Look forward to seeing your loom got to keep forum going even if its got nothing at all to do with timelapse !
D1


Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:52 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 10:45 am
Posts: 1648
Location: Merritt Island, Florida, Estates Unitas
Post Re: CNC Router Build
Awesome guitar Kit, nice to see your router making parts for you. D1, was there some compelling reason for you to go with a water cooled spindle motor instead of a cheap router? I got one of those water cooled jobs because its specs said it had more power, but changed my mind and am starting with a router. I can always swap in the other spindle if it seems necessary, but running cooling water to the router seemed like one more complication that could be avoided.

Sorry about not checking the forum so often lately. I have purchased a $900 luxury yacht and have been busy getting it ready for Summer. I had to rip out all the wiring because someone had wired it with lamp cord which has badly frayed insulation by now. Also installed a fridge, freezer and microwave so she is fully live-aboard. I hope to make some sort of short film while on a shakeout cruise in the Florida Keys this Summer and possibly take her to the Bahamas next year.

All of our MOCO products are for timelapse or stopmotion and as you say, its slowed down a lot recently. Our next product will be a focus system for realtime video. Hopefully there are a lot more people shooting video than timelapse, or I may have to sell the house and live on the boat.


Tue Mar 28, 2017 5:41 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie