Timescapes - Digital Timelapse Discussion
http://forum.timescapes.org/phpBB3/

Canon G12
http://forum.timescapes.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=3082
Page 1 of 1

Author:  unozig [ Tue Sep 21, 2010 2:10 am ]
Post subject:  Canon G12

I noticed this little extra in the specs on the new Canon G12

Capture scenes as you see them
Exceeding the limitations of conventional cameras the PowerShot G12 includes a new High Dynamic Range shooting mode*1, allowing the capture of high contrast scenes closer to how they appear to the user. While shooting on a tripod, the PowerShot G12 takes three different exposures of the same scene before analysing and combining shots in-camera to create a single image. The resulting shot captures highlight and shadow detail closer to how the photographer sees it.

http://www.dpreview.com/news/1009/10091412canong12.asp

Author:  Antz [ Tue Sep 21, 2010 2:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Canon G12

Be interesting too see how much flicker there is

Author:  EricHinesNWI [ Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Canon G12

Auto-HDR? That's pretty cool. They just added something like this to the iPhone 4 as well.

Author:  milapse [ Sun Oct 31, 2010 9:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Canon G12

Remember though, That sort of feature is processor intensive!

If it's anything like the Pentax K-7 it will take a while to spit out the tone-mapped image... The K-7 does it in about 10-15 seconds.

Author:  EricHinesNWI [ Sun Oct 31, 2010 2:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Canon G12

I guess it could be good for a deep time lapse, or just taking pictures, though. I didn't know the Pentax could do that too, that's pretty cool.

Author:  that_chris_kid [ Sat Mar 03, 2012 9:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Canon G12

I just tried it on my G12, it takes roughly 10sec to process the image. A major drawback is that you only have the option of a Jpeg image (obviously since it's proccessed in-camera). Which isn't entirely bad, just not preferred. Also you have no manual aperture, iso or shutter speed control when in HDR mode, so flicker may be an issue. It works pretty well in low light too, but be sure to add the extra open shutter time to your interval. Like Eric said, it's mostly good for "Just taking pictures". I'll try to make a short test timelapse video if i can remember tomorrow.

Oh yeah and, First post!! :)

Cheers.

Author:  that_chris_kid [ Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Canon G12

Ok I had a chance to make a quick timelapse using the G12 HDR mode.
It seems to have done surprisingly well for the first try. I see some flicker, but nothing major in my opinion.
I also have CHDK installed on it but didnt use any of its features for this test. But I did confirm that the aperture and ISO overrides do work in HDR mode. So it would be possible to set the camera to a simulated AV mode.
Anyways see for yourselves. The only image manipulation i did was adjust the contrast and brightness in lightroom 3. otherwise this is straight out of the camera.

http://youtu.be/QLiRWJPlcVg?hd=1

I have to say I'm not particularly impressed. I think you would still be better off shooting in RAW and either bracketing the shots or creating a seudo HDR sequence.

Author:  ryansanchez82 [ Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Canon G12

unozig wrote:
I noticed this little extra in the specs on the new Canon G12

Capture scenes as you see them
Exceeding the limitations of conventional cameras the PowerShot G12 includes a new High Dynamic Range shooting mode*1, allowing the capture of high contrast scenes closer to how they appear to the user. While shooting on a tripod, the PowerShot G12 takes three different exposures of the same scene before analysing and combining shots in-camera to create a single image. The resulting shot captures highlight and shadow detail closer to how the photographer sees it.

http://www.dpreview.com/news/1009/10091412canong12.asp



I am using the Canon G12 for a year and but I haven't noticed this yet.

Author:  RodgerC [ Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Canon G12

I just purchased a Canon G12 last week. I tried an HDR timelapse and it was very choppy. However I only had a 5 second delay and probably not enough time to process. So I'll try it again. I don't have CHDK installed as I'm not all that good with computers and I have seen about 5 different ways to install it and all seemed a little confusing. Would like to install it just not sure how. Do think it would be helpful for doing HDR timelapse though if it were installed. A great little camera. About half the weight of my Olympus E620 on my camera dolly.

Author:  that_chris_kid [ Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Canon G12

Hi Rodger, In my test I was only able to get a min of about 10sec intervals in HDR mode before it started skipping frames. And that's with a class 10 Sandisk Extreme 30MB/s card. I've tried disabling just about everything I can think of using CHDK and that's still the fastest interval I can seem to get. What is everyone else's experience? Anyone able to break the 10sec barrier?

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/