It is currently Sun Jul 22, 2018 6:33 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
 Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse 
Author Message
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:15 pm
Posts: 1695
Post Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Quote:
NOTE: This is just a very bare-bones tutorial. I will try to expand and improve it with more screencaps when I get some time.


1. OPEN AE

2. Go to Project panel and change Project Settings to depth: 16-bit sRGB and check Quicktime Gamma legacy and blend 1.0 Gamma.

3. File>Import>File

4. Highlight only the first image in your sequence, make sure it says "Import as Footage." There should be a drop-down box that says "JPEG Sequence" checked. Hit "Open."

My default is set at 24 frames per second when I import. Make sure your Import settings are set to 24 frames, or whatever framerate you want your project to be. Default is 30 when you install the program. This can be changed under Preferences>Import

5. Now, drag your footage over to the empty "Composition" area. This is will automatically create a new composition the size of your frames.

6. In the Composition panel, find the icon in the upper-right corner that looks like four horizontal bars, and click on it. Select "Composition Settings" from the drop-down menu. Select "HDTV 1080 24" - for example. Hit "Okay."

Now your image will be super zoomed in on the preview screen.

Image

7. In your working timeline, you need to click the little arrow (pic above) that reveals the "Transform" option. Use the Scale and Position sliders to make your frames fit the 1920x1080 composition.

At this point, you are ready to render. Obviously, at this point, you can make any tweaks you want using AE as well - billions of them! Once you are ready to render:

I need to update this RENDER section. Basically, just choose your Render settings as you normally like them. I will try to update the Render part soon.


Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:22 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:49 pm
Posts: 349
Location: Troutdale, OR http://www.vimeo.com/ac
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
How do you make it default to 24fps automatically?

_________________
Andrew Curtis http://www.ffwdtime.com


Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:03 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:40 pm
Posts: 251
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Preferences > Import > Sequence footage xx Frames per second.
Set this and all image sequences will come in at this rate.
Cheers,
Cy


Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:48 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:54 am
Posts: 611
Location: Oslo, Norway
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Thanks Tom, that helps! I have bought AE (and premiere) yesterday and it's kind of painful...
One question: When I click on File... Export..., it complains and says that I rather used the
render queue. What is that about?

_________________
Canon 400D, 50D, 5D Mk II. Canon L 16-35/f2.8, Sigma 10-20. Adobe Creative Suite 4.
website:
http://www.magictimelapse.ch/en


Mon Apr 27, 2009 7:27 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:40 pm
Posts: 251
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Michael wrote:
Thanks Tom, that helps! I have bought AE (and premiere) yesterday and it's kind of painful...
One question: When I click on File... Export..., it complains and says that I rather used the
render queue. What is that about?


The "Add to render queue," or "Make movie" feature (which takes you to the render queue) is the preferred way to make a movie.
http://forums.creativecow.net/thread/2/937132
Once you get used to it you'll like it.
Cheers,
Cy


Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:53 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:15 pm
Posts: 1695
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Michael wrote:
Thanks Tom, that helps! I have bought AE (and premiere) yesterday and it's kind of painful...
One question: When I click on File... Export..., it complains and says that I rather used the
render queue. What is that about?


I don't know, I just ignore it. :geek: :)


Mon Apr 27, 2009 2:13 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:54 am
Posts: 611
Location: Oslo, Norway
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
I see, cool!

By the way, why does everybody seem to use After Effects and nobody Premiere?

_________________
Canon 400D, 50D, 5D Mk II. Canon L 16-35/f2.8, Sigma 10-20. Adobe Creative Suite 4.
website:
http://www.magictimelapse.ch/en


Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:02 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:40 pm
Posts: 251
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
For me,
I was at an adobe show and won a copy of premiere. I asked them if I could swap it out for after effects...v3.1 at the time.
Everyone knew then that premiere was not ready for prime-time then and AE had a great reputation.
Things have changed and I know someone that posts a broadcast show with that app.
Final Cut Pro is no slouch either...it competes with Avid.
Cy


Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:30 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:15 pm
Posts: 1695
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Michael wrote:
I see, cool!

By the way, why does everybody seem to use After Effects and nobody Premiere?


Well, I use AE to do the renders, and then PP to make movies with music and editing cuts. PP cannot import RAW at all, and cannot import 4K+ JPEGs. I'm not sure of the exact spatial limits of PP, but I do know that it won't import 5K shots. I think 4096 might be the limit of PP.


Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:41 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:54 am
Posts: 611
Location: Oslo, Norway
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Tom, so you use AE to render single image series down to 4K or 1080 HD H.264 or photo jpg and then PP to connect the clips? If yes, is there a way to batch render several clips? Is that what the render queue is for?

Edit: Yes it is :-) Add several compositions to the project, and each can be added to the render queue.

Other question: Is it possible to use .mov and H264 in the render queue with several passes for higher quality?

_________________
Canon 400D, 50D, 5D Mk II. Canon L 16-35/f2.8, Sigma 10-20. Adobe Creative Suite 4.
website:
http://www.magictimelapse.ch/en


Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:24 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:40 pm
Posts: 251
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Yes, duplicate the output module (ctl D or Cmd D) and set unique outputs. One clip can output dozens of different quality codecs.
Cheers,
Cy


Fri May 01, 2009 5:07 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:54 am
Posts: 611
Location: Oslo, Norway
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
So there is another question to all you AE and Premiere Pro experts: If I understand you correctly, you do render the clips in the same project in different compositions in AE, and then import the rendered clips into Premiere Pro to do the transitions and add some music. Now I have 2 questions:
In what format do you render in AE? .mov, and photo jpg, or H264, or something else?
I imported some rendered clips in PP. Now very strangely, PP re-renders the full movie again. Should I now use the same settings as the exported clips from AE?? I also somehow noticed some quality loss after PP...
So what are your post process steps when using AE and PP?
Thanks a lot for your help!

_________________
Canon 400D, 50D, 5D Mk II. Canon L 16-35/f2.8, Sigma 10-20. Adobe Creative Suite 4.
website:
http://www.magictimelapse.ch/en


Sat May 09, 2009 2:05 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:40 pm
Posts: 251
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
I don't have PP but I would stray from using any compression when you are moving to another program (from AE to PP).
Animation or None are two of the highest quality codecs available. Yes, they are huge but then again 1Tb goes for under a hundred these days.
Personally, I go from AE Animation codec to Avid Symphony Nitris at 1:1. There are PP forums out there to get more info.
http://www.postforum.com/forums/list.php?f=43
http://forums.creativecow.net/adobepremierepro
http://forums.creativecow.net/adobephotoshopbasics
http://forums.digitalmedianet.com/cgi-b ... 2=&forums=
http://forums.adobe.com/community/premi ... B3A4.node0

Cheers,
Cy


Sat May 09, 2009 8:44 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:20 pm
Posts: 5
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
I'd appreciate it, Tom, if you could please clarify step #7. I experimented with star lapse and when the entire movie was finished rendering, the entire video was just plain black. I think it has to do with step #7 but the transform options were the same as the picture you provided. I'm using AE CS4 if that helps. Thanks.

_________________
5D Mark II w/24-70mm f/2.8L


Mon Feb 08, 2010 6:49 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:48 pm
Posts: 1144
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Michael wrote:
Other question: Is it possible to use .mov and H264 in the render queue with several passes for higher quality?


AE isn't really built to do that kind of compression (it doesn't do multi-pass renders) - you can use mpeg-streamclip to get a decent h264 movie, but I wouldn't use AE to create the H264 movie.

timt

edit 2013 - back three years ago I wouldn't have done this but I have since made Quicktime/H264 movies out of AE and been very pleased with the results, thankfully I reserved the right to be wrong

_________________
Please check out how to embed a Vimeo link.
Tim T


Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:07 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 8:27 am
Posts: 24
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Gosh most of the jargon in this thread is way over my head. However I do use this tutorial every time I do TL stuff. I just have a quick question. Medium JPEGs work great for this tutorial turning the footage into 1080p. Could I shoot small jpegs safely to make the movie 720p? I hope that is understandable. I am on a 5dmkii by the way.


Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:38 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:36 pm
Posts: 1787
Location: Antarctica/California/New Zealand
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
jamesgott wrote:
Gosh most of the jargon in this thread is way over my head. However I do use this tutorial every time I do TL stuff. I just have a quick question. Medium JPEGs work great for this tutorial turning the footage into 1080p. Could I shoot small jpegs safely to make the movie 720p? I hope that is understandable. I am on a 5dmkii by the way.

You could, but you are losing the ability to do things like panning and zooming afterwards if your original photo resolution is too low.

_________________
Anthony Powell
"Antarctica: A Year On Ice" Feature Film
Vimeo Youtube Photos
Twitter Instagram Google+
Facebook Facebook Movie Page


Mon Feb 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2008 2:15 pm
Posts: 1695
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
jamesgott wrote:
Could I shoot small jpegs safely to make the movie 720p? I hope that is understandable. I am on a 5dmkii by the way.


Even "Small" JPEGs are 2784 x 1856 coming out of the camera. So you could still do virtual pans, etc. No problem.


Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:12 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 1
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
old thread, just thought I'd chime due to a recent retweet :)

I really like importing camera raw sequences right into after effects.

In the interpreting footage menu where you select the frame rate (mentioned above) has a "more options" button. When you click it, AE will open up camera raw so you can make fine changes after the first import.

Yay non destructive editing, well sort of :)


Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:09 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 4:18 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Tahoe, CA
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
Can anyone please clarify Tom's step #7 for rending out intermediate files in AE? I know this thread is a few years old so maybe we could update it for today's world. I'm trying to migrate to an AE workflow on a PC and I would like to know what the best export format is so I can later bring clips into Premiere for editing.

Since I am on a PC, I do not have ProRes available to me. Options with AE CC out of the box are:
    AIFF
    AVI
    DPX/Cineon Sequence
    F4V
    FLV
    IFF Seqeunce
    JPEG Sequence
    MP3
    MXF
    OpenEXR
    PNG
    Photoshop Sequence
    QuickTime
    Radiance
    SGI
    TIFF Sequence
    Targe Sequence
    WAV

Lossless AVI makes a 4 GB file from a 30 second clip, so obviously that format is not tenable. Like everyone else, I want to preserve as much color fidelity as possible. I am bringing in either RAW files or JPEG files in Adobe RGB into AE. Further, in AE's export dialog, do I want to tick "Preserve RGB" under profile and output to Adobe RGB?

_________________
GK Photography
http://grantkaye.com


Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:02 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:48 pm
Posts: 1144
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
grantkaye wrote:
Since I am on a PC, I do not have ProRes available to me. Options with AE CC out of the box are:
    AIFF audio only
    AVI
    DPX/Cineon Sequence
    F4V flash varient
    FLV flash
    IFF Seqeunce sequence
    JPEG Sequence sequence
    MP3 audio only
    MXF
    OpenEXR
    PNG sequence
    Photoshop Sequence sequence
    QuickTime I would use a quicktime codec like an H264 or photoJPEG (set to 97)
    Radiance
    SGI sequence
    TIFF Sequence sequence
    Targe Sequence sequence
    WAV audio only

Lossless AVI makes a 4 GB file from a 30 second clip, so obviously that format is not tenable. Like everyone else, I want to preserve as much color fidelity as possible. I am bringing in either RAW files or JPEG files in Adobe RGB into AE. Further, in AE's export dialog, do I want to tick "Preserve RGB" under profile and output to Adobe RGB?


I don't know that sequences are optimal for premiere so I would avoid those and obviously and audio only format isn't going to work. I would make a quicktime with the h264 codec (limited to 38000) or the PhotoJPEG codec (quality set to 97 or as low as 95) either of those choices will be smaller but maintain quality.

tt

_________________
Please check out how to embed a Vimeo link.
Tim T


Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:35 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 7:20 pm
Posts: 340
Location: Brisbane, Australia.
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
I render out either lossless AVI or use Quicktime from AE. I don't want to be making my final edits (in Preimere) using already compressed formats.

_________________
http://www.karlmuller.com
...
http://www.flickr.com/photos/karlmuller/
...
https://www.facebook.com/KarlMullerPhotography


Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:37 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:34 am
Posts: 157
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
I wish there were just one or two ultimate methods of time lapse work flow. I want to know how not to lose any quality in the photographs.

If anyone thinks they can create an easy to follow and good work flow tutorial I'd be very happy to watch it.

_________________
My Vimeo: https://vimeo.com/user11613035 and Youtube: http://www.youtube.com/user/lucasfunkt


Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:52 am
Profile

Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 4:54 pm
Posts: 11
Post Re: Basic Adobe After Effects Rendering for Timelapse
I would have a question regarding points 6 and 7, mainly:
if I'm shooting a RAW images in 5184x2916 pixels and then changing it, for example, on HDTV 24, which is 1920x1080 how can I make a panning or zooming (in/out) effects if all the resolution high dimensions are got the min point?
You know what I mean? that all the details are basically will be ruined :(
How to preserve native dimensions and don't loose any image quality with all the panning and zooming effects before rendering the clip in AE?
Can someone explain or share their knowledge in this?
Appreciate!


Sat Aug 02, 2014 11:18 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie