It is currently Tue Aug 04, 2020 5:30 pm

Nighsky Timelapse Tutorial 

Post Nighsky Timelapse Tutorial
LAST UPDATE: 10/15/2011

As a continuation to the settings thread, i am starting this thread. The subject here is the correct settings and procedure, in order to make a time lapse footage that will capture the spin of Earth. This time, i have some minor experience shooting starts and after couple of failed attempts (for various reasons) i am here to give some sort of tutorial for other starters. Please feel free to contribute by adding hints and tips wherever you think are necessary.

Place and Conditions

First of all, the place. As has been discussed in a lot of threads in this forum, the place is a basic component of the result. The ideal place is a place isolated enough, so you won’t capture any human source light (roads, cities, villages etc). In order to find a good spot in your place (if there is one) try googling "Dark Sky map Europe" or America or wherever you are. Another thing you can take into consideration is the altitude. Generally, higher altitudes provide better pictures (atmospheric factors).
Another thing that you have to keep in mind is the time and season. The Sun must be down a hundred per cent, the moon must not be visible, and I am pretty sure that there is a difference shooting in the summer, fall, winter or spring. If I am correct, the best time to shoot is in August and September. If anyone knows more about the subject, please enlighten us.

Camera Settings and Gear