It is currently Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:04 pm

New to timelapse - please evaluate my linear controller.... 

Post New to timelapse - please evaluate my linear controller....
Hi Everyone.

I'm just starting in timelapse. I've done a few with no motion control, but nothing worth posting yet.

I was able to grab some spare parts from an old metal lathe and turn this into a linear motion controller.

There is a mount that travels on 2 rods, and a leadscrew that goes down the center, attached to a stepper motor.

I don't have this mounted on anything yet.

See pics....

My question - this is giving me about 18" of travel and the slowest speed will cover 18" in about 3.5 minutes.

I'm wondering if this is OK. I'm thinking that this is awfully fast. If I want a movie that is 24 frames per second, and I'm taking a frame per second, I'm only getting a movie that's 8.75 seconds long.....

Thoughts on this speed? I'm a machinist, so I can certainly get a longer leadscrew and rods and make them work, but even if I double the length, I only get 16 seconds.

The other option is a slower stepper motor, which might be best.

Thoughts?

Attachments:
IMG_2722.jpg
IMG_2722.jpg [ 105.44 KiB | Viewed 1808 times ]
IMG_2721.jpg
IMG_2721.jpg [ 113.66 KiB | Viewed 1808 times ]
Fri Apr 22, 2011 5:28 am

Post Re: New to timelapse - please evaluate my linear controller....
8.75s is a good length for a single TL clip, you will probably edit it down anyway, 4-6s is a good average. At 30fps (which is more standard I think) you end up with 7s. Also, a travel length of 18" = 45cm is a good start although for many subjects you probably want to be able to cover a longer distance, twice that amount and up. Then with the same speed to also get double the time which gives some more freedom.

Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:39 am