It is currently Tue Sep 22, 2020 12:11 am

Newbie motor question 

Post Newbie motor question
Hi all

Great forum! I'm excited to try and get my feet wet with some motion timelapse but have a few questions on the types of motors to be used in my project. I am just looking at doing a simple pulley system on my Igus slider, so motor at one end with pulley to wind cord/string attached to carriage. That simple really, eventually I plan to make a better system but I'm just getting into it and don't want to invest a lot of money at this point. I've been looking at motors and what not and I really don't want to order from China and wait 3 weeks to get the parts so am looking for something I can salvage from a home item ie printer etc. but have a couple of questions:

1. For stepper type motors how do you control these? What parts are needed and where can I get them from?
2. For servo type motors do I need a gear system?
3. Has anyone used something like the innards of a cordless drill? You can pick these up for under $20 and they have variable speed motors 0-720RPM including chargeable battery packs. Just wondering if anyone has tried this? Seems the motors are high torque also and include a PWM but not sure if the PWM can be changed from trigger operation to a variable resistor or would I need to add a cheap PWM controller (like this one: http://gb.suntekstore.com/DC-12V__24V-3 ... oller.html) instead?

Lastly which is the easiest/cheapest solution? It looks like the servo route is the better solution but again looking for something that is relatively inexpensive with parts sourced in the US.

Cheers.

Mon Sep 12, 2011 4:14 am

Post Re: Newbie motor question
Almost any electric motor you can salvage will be far too high in speed in time-lapse.

Value for money you can't beat prices from ebay if you can be patient.
Here's a really cheap setup...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/320681934776?ss ... 1439.l2649
http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-DC12V-24V-3 ... 2566c38074