It is currently Tue Jan 28, 2020 12:39 pm

image quality 

Post image quality
I've done a lot of slow time-lapse sequence (1 frame per 30 sec) typically indoors with mirror lockup with good results and great image quality (IQ). However, I started shooting landscapes in eastern Montana with a MILapse system at 8x (turns about 90degress per 40 minutes), 8 sec picture intervals, with windy conditions (factory tripod weighted), F2.8, RAW format, & fast shutter speeds. My t-l controller goes into the left of the camera and required that I push the camera to the front of the new L-brackets provided with the kit. I'm thinking of flipping it over (upside down L) and placing the camera on top so it sits more near the rear near the point of rotation. Seems limiting the movement of the front of the lens should help.

I'm planning to try some trials soon to isolate the effects of wind (inside vs. outside), shutter (mirror lockup vs. no lockup vs. a digicam), camera positioning (front vs. rear of bracket), and rotation speed to see if I can improve IQ. The obvious limit of the MILapse seems to be its current motion and potential impact on IQ. Overall, I'm impressed with its functionality but am frustrated with the IQ. In eastern Montana it is nearly always windy which may be the biggest factor... I have had pretty good success with landscape photography (solid tripod & shutter lockup). I'm not sure if others have noticied this or not.

Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:18 am
Post Re: image quality
I'd suggest you ditch the factory tripod and mate it to a very solid one. Weigh it down as much as possible as well. Depending on the exposure time 8x can be a little on the fast side especially if your getting into say the 1/2 second and up range. If IQ is your priority... slow the ratio down to 0.5 or so @ 8x... if your going for longer than 1 second exposures keep it at 2x and your ratio below 1.0