It is currently Sat Aug 15, 2020 11:27 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Just bought an Orion Teletrack Mount 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:10 pm
Posts: 86
Location: Paralowie, South Australia
Post Just bought an Orion Teletrack Mount
Hi all,

I just purchased an Orion Teletrack mount to expand my options in Time Lapse photography as well as other interests I have. Looking forward to using it out in the field, does anyone have any hints etc... on producing a smooth panning shoot with this type of mount? what setting etc... I do plan on getting the MX2 from DP one day, which should help, but what do you guys recommend to do in the mean time.

_________________
Andrew Wall,
South Australia.


Mon Sep 26, 2011 11:16 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:26 pm
Posts: 274
Location: Roswell, NM
Post Re: Just bought an Orion Teletrack Mount
Why, Papywizard of course :D www.papywizard.org should have everything you need including how to interface the mount with a computer wired or wireless (Bluetooth). Note the connection is not a standard RS232 type connection so a special cable will need to be built but the web site should have all info on that. I just bought a Blue Tooth kit from Claud (http://www.papymerlin.com/interface-électronique/) for less than $100 and installed it inside my mount (most just hang it outside, plug in the same port the MX2 uses).

There is also this site http://www.kolor.com/forum/f20-motorize ... papywizard with everything else to include time lapse info. Papywizard was designed for panoramics and gigapixel but with a time lapse preset it does great with time Lapse... very smooth. Note that with Papywizard the mount controls the camera and will only work in shoot-move-shoot, not continuios.

Hope this gets you started!

_________________
Mike Lanfor
www.airplayphoto.com
US Army Retired


Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:31 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:26 pm
Posts: 274
Location: Roswell, NM
Post Re: Just bought an Orion Teletrack Mount
One note.... Papywizard is free :shock:

_________________
Mike Lanfor
www.airplayphoto.com
US Army Retired


Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:33 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:10 pm
Posts: 86
Location: Paralowie, South Australia
Post Re: Just bought an Orion Teletrack Mount
Thanks for the info, I have the GOTO version of the Orion Teletrack, can I just use the PC control from the hand controller to move the mount using papywizard and just configure it to use a comm port? I don't need to update any firmware either do I? Don't want to play with that just et as I still like to use the mount for Astro work also.

_________________
Andrew Wall,
South Australia.


Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:09 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:26 pm
Posts: 274
Location: Roswell, NM
Post Re: Just bought an Orion Teletrack Mount
Astroman wrote:
Thanks for the info, I have the GOTO version of the Orion Teletrack, can I just use the PC control from the hand controller to move the mount using papywizard and just configure it to use a comm port? I don't need to update any firmware either do I? Don't want to play with that just et as I still like to use the mount for Astro work also.


The controller for the GoTo version is only for celestral viewing (stars and such)... it is worthless for panorams, and time lapse. It will not work as in interface for your computer and papywizard.

The only option is to purchase and use a Dynamic Perception MX2 (cables for the Merlin are supposed to be available from Dynamic perception soon according to Chris) or build your own special cable to connect a computer and the mount (RS232 won't work, need a USB/TTL connection) or purchase a specially built BT adapter for wireless communication (the special cable and BT adapter only work with Papywizard, not the MX2).

A lot of people seem to purcahse the GoTo model only to find the added cost was not neccassary, the basic head is all that's needed unless you want the GoTo controller for it's intended use.

As for firmware... you shouldn't need to change that on most skywatcher mounts. There is a details post on firmware upgrades on the Autopano forum and most refer to the older mounts.

Hope this helps. Getting the cable or BT adapter is pretty easy and all info is on autopano forum - http://www.kolor.com/forum/f20-motorize ... papywizard

_________________
Mike Lanfor
www.airplayphoto.com
US Army Retired


Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:27 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:10 pm
Posts: 86
Location: Paralowie, South Australia
Post Re: Just bought an Orion Teletrack Mount
Thanks Mike, very helpful!

_________________
Andrew Wall,
South Australia.


Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:39 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:26 pm
Posts: 274
Location: Roswell, NM
Post Re: Just bought an Orion Teletrack Mount
You're welcome. BTW, was building a cable for the Merlin to the MX2 today for someone and ended up distroying (frying) both of my Merlin heads :cry:

When building and testing the Merlin cable, a problem in the way I soldered them cased a short that ultimately destroyed both of my Merlin heads. Yep, fried but will get with tech support over at Celestron on Tuesday so no using them this weekend

Turns out one of the center of the 4 wires from the RJ12 (telephone connecter) shorted with the outer signal wire sending 12 volts DC back into the Merlin apparently frying the controller board (one of the center two wires carries 12vdc). As the short was intermittent I made the mistake of having one stop working and then killing the second thinking the cable was fine.

Will post more details elsewhere in this forum later tonight.

_________________
Mike Lanfor
www.airplayphoto.com
US Army Retired


Fri Oct 07, 2011 5:34 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 2:48 am
Posts: 57
Location: victoria australia
Post Re: Just bought an Orion Teletrack Mount
Great mount


Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:34 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:26 pm
Posts: 274
Location: Roswell, NM
Post Re: Just bought an Orion Teletrack Mount
Sorry, no.

_________________
Mike Lanfor
www.airplayphoto.com
US Army Retired


Mon Mar 11, 2013 8:01 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie