It is currently Fri Aug 07, 2020 1:06 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 505 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13
 Little Bramper intervalometer 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:55 pm
Posts: 102
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Thanks for checking back in.

Where did you get your new sockets from?


Sun Jan 15, 2012 7:02 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:04 am
Posts: 186
Location: Essex, UK
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
I got them from Maplins. But any electronics store should stock them. They had a choice between 2 and 3 pins sockets. It is the 3 pin one you need.


Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:02 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:55 pm
Posts: 102
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Right on man. Thanks a bunch.


Mon Jan 16, 2012 5:07 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:23 pm
Posts: 44
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Hey all.
Just a quick post to say hi all you brampers and I am wondering if you can help with an issue I have been having.
I have started to get some excessive flicker appearing in my shots.
Its new and I haven't changed any techniques I have been using since before it started.
this one attached was 8 second intervals and the flickering at the end was at about 444ms bulb.
note: there is 4 definite other flickers on there as well.
I had slowed the ramp to +0.2.... that shouldn't do it? would it?
Image
Any hints? could it be x-time?
I use the twist lens technique so I am sure its not aperture.
I used to get the occasional one but I get more now.
shot on a canon 60D ƒ5.0 24-105 (about 35)

Any ways
thanks if you can help, and here is my last years best of (a few bramps in there)


Tue Feb 07, 2012 1:30 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:58 pm
Posts: 1348
Location: Denver, Colorado
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Is it a single offending frame? Or several frames in a row? does this happen when not ramping?


I have had some strange things happen with my 60D, rom tiem to time i get an image with a 1.4/f exif with very little other information, it will be the same exposure speed, same iso, everything shot manual so it should be the same, yet i get an occasional mysterious frame that is darker than the rest and i have to bump up the exposure and add a slight green hue.

_________________
http://www.BioLapse.com
http://www.TheChronosProject.com


Tue Feb 07, 2012 2:29 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:23 pm
Posts: 44
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Hey Jack,
its just individual frames and its just on bramping.
But like on that screen grab it was 4 random ones than at the end it was every second frame.
I shot a heap of stuff last week using the bramper as just intervalometer and it worked fine.
Maybe its the 60D?
Whats x-time are you using?
Thanks


Tue Feb 07, 2012 2:58 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:05 pm
Posts: 444
Location: US Virgin Islands
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
that is to big of a discrepancy to be an X time issue.

I hate to suggest it because it sound like you are an experienced Bramper user. But the only thing I could thing is is that you are Aperture or ISO stepping and you are changing the setting in the camera one frame before you change it in the Little Bramper.

I have not clue what all the spike at the end could be.


Wed Feb 08, 2012 5:26 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 4:23 pm
Posts: 44
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Zigmo wrote:
the only thing I could thing is is that you are Aperture or ISO stepping


Thanks for the help Zigmo but its not ISO stepping either. That shoot was all the same iso & aperture start to end.

Having said that, I do always stuff up my ISO stepping.
Last time (not this shoot) I even had some one press the key and i changed the camera and I still didn't do i in time :(
Does any one have any handy hints???
Would it be best to: pause the bramp - change iso - unpause bramp, rather than try and race it?


Wed Feb 08, 2012 12:50 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:05 pm
Posts: 444
Location: US Virgin Islands
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
It's much easier to do it the same time when you have an enclosure for the bramper. Its no trouble to do both at the same time. the bramper is easily a one hand operation if you build a proper enclosure.


Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:22 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:31 am
Posts: 19
Location: Ellsworth, ME
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
... here's the case I made last fall - but things have been so hectic with work, I've had little time since for Little B :(

Attachment:
1014.jpg
1014.jpg [ 83.97 KiB | Viewed 11909 times ]


Attachment:
1016.jpg
1016.jpg [ 90 KiB | Viewed 11909 times ]


Attachment:
1125.jpg
1125.jpg [ 107.23 KiB | Viewed 11909 times ]


Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:11 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:14 pm
Posts: 14
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
I broke my PC cable that came with the Little Bramper. I purchased a 16 foot PC cable at a photography store, but it does not work properly giving me the occasional erratic exposure - sometimes the shutter stays open. Since I have two Little Brampers and multiple cameras I can narrow the problem down to my new cable.

So is there anything special I need to know about PC cables or place to purchase them or did I just have bad luck? Maybe 16 feet was too long?

Thanks!


Thu Feb 23, 2012 9:27 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 1:59 pm
Posts: 7
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Quick question - What are people using to house their new gen Brampers? I notice on http://www.thewhippersnapper.com/LittleBramper/Site/Tutorials_%26_Support.html they no longer fit the Pelican case which is a shame. Looking for something a little easier than above.


Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:25 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:17 am
Posts: 25
Location: munich
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
the peli case 1050 is nice, dont know if they have it with transparent cover


Tue Feb 28, 2012 3:04 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2012 10:51 pm
Posts: 20
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
has anyone experienced the b-step randomly setting to 2.7XX something... i'm not sure why this happens, but it's caused me some problems when iso ramping and ruined a couple sequences. i'm constantly checking it now to make sure it stays at 1.0 before stepping... it happens everytime i bramp, but lately i've been catching it every time and after i catch it, and reset it back to 1.0 it doesn't change until i shut off and use it later. just curious if anyone else has had this issue


Mon Jun 04, 2012 2:35 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 2:31 pm
Posts: 11
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Anyone know what the X-Time parameter for 5D Mark III should be? Thanks.


Mon Jun 04, 2012 5:19 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 2:53 am
Posts: 46
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
tlr wrote:
Anyone know what the X-Time parameter for 5D Mark III should be? Thanks.

+1
and light switch not working anymore on my bramper.any solution for this?

_________________
Canon 7D


Fri Jul 20, 2012 4:03 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:31 am
Posts: 19
Location: Ellsworth, ME
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Did you ask Tom?


Sat Jul 21, 2012 12:22 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:53 am
Posts: 48
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Hey guys,

I just got some time to start playing with my little bramper (I managed to get one, form the last batch :-) THX Thomas!!)

I followed the instructions and tutorials and have a basic understanding on how this device works.

Now for a field test... I am currently stationed in Dubai -> http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/a ... html?n=776 . How do I setup my bramper correctly in order to make propper bramping TL? I am asking this because our sunset here, compared to North Europe (Netherlands) are much shorter. We also have shorter days. So where to start! :-)

I have the Bramper currently on B=150ms.


Sat Jul 21, 2012 5:40 am
Profile

Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 2:53 am
Posts: 46
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
Kelly wrote:
Did you ask Tom?

yep no reply..

_________________
Canon 7D


Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:51 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:14 am
Posts: 68
Location: Dublin Ireland
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
demartilephoto wrote:
has anyone experienced the b-step randomly setting to 2.7XX something... i'm not sure why this happens, but it's caused me some problems when iso ramping and ruined a couple sequences. i'm constantly checking it now to make sure it stays at 1.0 before stepping... it happens everytime i bramp, but lately i've been catching it every time and after i catch it, and reset it back to 1.0 it doesn't change until i shut off and use it later. just curious if anyone else has had this issue


I think what is happening to you is that when you put in the Bstep you dont put in every number till the end.
Like if you were doing a b-step of 3.2000. You need to press 3, 2, 0,0,0 then # to enter it. If you just type in 3, 2 then # the b step comes out weird.

_________________
500px http://500px.com/shanecaffrey
Twitter @shanecaffrey
Vimeo https://vimeo.com/user7050487


Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:59 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:21 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
So can anybody give me some insight on how to get a hold of a Little Bramper? It seems that I showed up a little late to the party, but I don't want to be left out! Any help or tips on finding one for sale would be much appreciated!

Thanks!


Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:25 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 6:31 am
Posts: 19
Location: Ellsworth, ME
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
You'll need to write to Tom (littlebramper at gmail.com) and place your order at http://www.thewhippersnapper.com/Little ... /Home.html ... but I haven't had much luck in getting him to reply... pretty much since last September. It's unclear why, and people do get on with their lives; however, I worry sometimes that he became discouraged after I tried getting him and his brilliant Little Bramper introduced to Promote Systems. Promote Systems has since built in an Intervalometer of their own design into the exiting Promote unit; however, I have not had much time to work on experiments testing one system or the other. Most of my time was spent on designing and fabricating an enclosure for Tom's PCB and other loose parts with Tom's kind and helpful comments / feedback - but that was last August and September.

Kelly


Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:12 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Jul 28, 2012 2:14 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
I would like to have gotten the little bramper, but I couldn't get one so I got the Promote with the bulb-ramping kit --> http://bit.ly/OYvoWO. Cost is way different and too bad the little bramper is not around right now for me. But, Promote has some solid products with great support, so I'm happy with that system and would recommend it.

Sincerely,
Lars

Lars Lentz
http://larslentzphotography.com


Sat Jul 28, 2012 2:31 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:29 pm
Posts: 19
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
has anybody had the problem that the interval time is going down as expected but the bulb time gets stuck open?
I can´t seem to get it going again unless I press the bulb button in the board itself next to the light.
I am trying to do a simple test and run into this issue.
If you know of a fix or workaround I would appreciate it
Rafael


Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:18 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 3:29 pm
Posts: 19
Post Re: Little Bramper intervalometer
In case you run into this i found this on the LB website


Problem: The shutter opens but never closes.
Solution: Little Bramper is waiting to see the `shutter has opened’ signal from the camera’s PC socket.
This will occur if the camera (for some reason) didn’t fire a shot. Also, if this connection is faulty, Little Bramper will never realize it needs to start timing the exposure. If the camera did fire, check the PC cable.
The `shutter has opened’ signal is actually the same signal that fires an external flash unit - on some cameras (e.g. 7D) there’s a menu option (Custom Function 7: Enable flash to fire) that allows you to enable/disable an external flash unit. Make sure you have this enabled.
When Little Bramper freezes like this, you can press the SHUTTER button on the Little Bramper circuit board, and this will simulate the shutter signal, unfreezing Little Bramper.


Sun Aug 26, 2012 3:35 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 505 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie