It is currently Sat Apr 10, 2021 2:38 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
 Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:20 am
Posts: 2
Location: Seoul, KOREA
Post Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
Recently I purchased a 550d and get to be disappointed that TC-80N3 is not compatible to 550d.
Do you have any info of other equipment?

Thanks, Gustav


Sat Jun 05, 2010 3:32 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 12:16 pm
Posts: 370
Location: Gloucester UK
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
magma wrote:
Recently I purchased a 550d and get to be disappointed that TC-80N3 is not compatible to 550d.
Do you have any info of other equipment?

Thanks, Gustav

From memory the 550d has a 2.5mm stereo jack plug for the remote interface. Personally I would cut the TC-80N3 cable near the camera end and fit an in-line 2.5mm male/female stereo plug and socket. With the original N3 canon plug end removed it will fit the 'cheaper' canon bodies and it will also fit the canon bodies with the N3 socket. Probably takes less than 15 minutes to do and only costs a couple of pounds.

regards
Kev

_________________
Wildlife and Nature photography
http://www.photosbykev.com


Sat Jun 05, 2010 4:30 am
Profile
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
yep that's what the N3 stands for... Try searching ebay for: '550d timer'


Sat Jun 05, 2010 6:23 am
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:20 am
Posts: 6
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
I have a ”YongNuo TC-C1” Intervalometer that works perfectly with my Canon 450D and what I know it's the same stereo jack plug for the 550D.

_________________
Canon 450D, Canon 60D
17-55/f2.8, 85/f1.8, Tokina AT-X Pro 11-16/f2.8
Skywacher 200/1000mm, Astro 110ED 770mm
DS2000, Skywacher HEQ5 PRO


Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:39 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:38 pm
Posts: 29
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
Hey Gustov,

Here's a Vimeo made with the 550D. The intervalometer is listed in the description.

http://vimeo.com/11457082

_________________
My persistent quest: Workflow for iMac 3.06 Ghz core duo > Canon's .MOV files > Premiere Pro CS4/mac. What's your workflow? Please let me know. Thanks!
http://vimeo.com/user1910859


Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:30 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:20 am
Posts: 2
Location: Seoul, KOREA
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
Thank you all for the replies above.

Yesterday I found a local product, SECULINE, and now waiting for delivery within a couple of days...... at the quite reasonable price, 25 dollars.

Thanks again!


Mon Jun 07, 2010 5:45 am
Profile

Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 2:53 am
Posts: 46
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... AQ:US:1123
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 4658wt_845
or
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.13892
which one do you recommend guys?

_________________
Canon 7D


Thu Jul 01, 2010 4:07 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:04 am
Posts: 186
Location: Essex, UK
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
@ Kemalettin:

They all do the same thing. The only real difference is the batteries. I use the second intervalometer in your list as you can get the batteries from virtually anywhere. The first and third on your list use a button cell which I believe lasts for a very long while. Just make sure you have a spare cell as it will be harder to find a replacement at short notice if needed.

Hope that helps.

Edit: Just noticed that the 3rd intervalometer on your list has a different plug than the first 2. Looks like the plug on that one fits the 5dII. You didn't mention which camera you were using.


Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:49 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 2:53 am
Posts: 46
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
550D

_________________
Canon 7D


Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:36 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:03 pm
Posts: 1
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
magma wrote:
Recently I purchased a 550d and get to be disappointed that TC-80N3 is not compatible to 550d.
Do you have any info of other equipment?

Thanks, Gustav


Hi, Gustav,
I recently purchased a intervalometer for my EOS Rebel T2i, and just received it today. I haven't used it yet, but I found it at Amazon, based on a recommendation I got from a video on Vimeo. If you scroll through jonni's videos, you can see that it works for the T2i.

Here's a link to the item at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Timer-Remote-Cont ... ys_iyr_img
(also, they state that this timer remote control RS-60E3 is compatible with the T2i in the list at the bottom of the page)

and here's the video at Vimeo:
http://www.vimeo.com/12316742

Hope that helps!


Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:26 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 2:53 am
Posts: 46
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
craig whipps wrote:
magma wrote:
Recently I purchased a 550d and get to be disappointed that TC-80N3 is not compatible to 550d.
Do you have any info of other equipment?

Thanks, Gustav


Hi, Gustav,
I recently purchased a intervalometer for my EOS Rebel T2i, and just received it today. I haven't used it yet, but I found it at Amazon, based on a recommendation I got from a video on Vimeo. If you scroll through jonni's videos, you can see that it works for the T2i.

Here's a link to the item at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Timer-Remote-Cont ... ys_iyr_img
(also, they state that this timer remote control RS-60E3 is compatible with the T2i in the list at the bottom of the page)

and here's the video at Vimeo:
http://www.vimeo.com/12316742

Hope that helps!

any good feedback about this item?

_________________
Canon 7D


Wed Jul 21, 2010 5:55 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:30 pm
Posts: 58
Location: New York
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
My friend just picked up a ProMaster #3070 for his T2i in Minnesota for $80. I see online that it's going for about $100.

Here's their site:
www.promaster.com/

Here's some guy's time lapse with it:
http://vimeo.com/13191256


Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:28 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:42 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
Hello,
I just saw a video on youtube about this intervalometer:
http://www.amazon.com/Aputure-Powershot ... =pd_cp_e_2

Here is the youtube video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HtaUtcFUj_k

Has anybody here ever bought this product? Do you guys know the brand?


Sat Jan 29, 2011 5:54 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:04 am
Posts: 186
Location: Essex, UK
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
I bought one of these for my Canon. Had it for well over a year, it has been well used and I have had no problems.


Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:18 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:23 pm
Posts: 6
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Post Re: Intervalometer for Canon 550d/T2i
Check CHDK website, there i a now hack for Canon 550d/TI
http://arch.ced.berkeley.edu/kap/discus ... e=1#Item_0
One for 350d too


Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:13 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie