It is currently Fri Apr 16, 2021 4:18 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Canon t1i/500d and little bramper 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:47 am
Posts: 388
Location: St Gallen, Switzerland
Post Canon t1i/500d and little bramper
The little Bramper project sounded so exciting that I went ahead and bought one without even owning a Canon camera! So I have to decide which Canon to buy. I`m heavily invested in Nikon so I`m talking bottom-end Canon to start with. I read that the requirements for the Little Bramper are:
a) shortest bulb exposures of about 1/10s (or faster)
b) that it can fire a smooth range of exposures
Has anyone successfully used the Canon T1i/500d with the Bramper? It`s come down a lot in price here where I live. Thanks


Sat Feb 19, 2011 3:38 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:04 am
Posts: 186
Location: Essex, UK
Post Re: Canon t1i/500d and little bramper
Yup, works fine with my 500d. Only thing is the iso can only really be pushed to 800. 1600 is just way too noisy (for me at least).


Sat Feb 19, 2011 11:10 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:47 am
Posts: 388
Location: St Gallen, Switzerland
Post Re: Canon t1i/500d and little bramper
Thank you Scorchio.
It sounds on a par with my Nikon D5000 then. I`m not right now inclined to pay an extra $2000 for (mainly) the Canon 5D2`s two or so stops better noise performance.


Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:03 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:47 am
Posts: 388
Location: St Gallen, Switzerland
Post Re: Canon t1i/500d and little bramper
I experimented with the 500d/t1i in a camera shop, firing the bulb as fast as I could by pressing the shutter button quickly, admittedly a crude test. I could not get it to fire faster than about 1 second. The cheaper but older Canon 1000d (Rebel xs) was much faster and the 60d faster again.


Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:05 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:04 am
Posts: 186
Location: Essex, UK
Post Re: Canon t1i/500d and little bramper
It takes 3/4 of a second for the camera to be ready to fire again. When Bramping you also need to add some time on to allow the last image shot to be displayed. So the minimum time delay you would need between the shutter closing and opening again is 1.6 seconds. That gives you a very short time to see the histogram for the last image and make adjustments to the Bramper.

I have no idea if that is particularly slow for the Canons. I have only ever used the Bramper on the 500d.


Tue Mar 08, 2011 5:52 am
Profile

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 4:47 am
Posts: 388
Location: St Gallen, Switzerland
Post Re: Canon t1i/500d and little bramper
Hi Scorchio,
Have you been able to ascertain the fastest shutter speed under bulb, for the t1i?


Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:46 am
Profile

Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 6:04 am
Posts: 186
Location: Essex, UK
Post Re: Canon t1i/500d and little bramper
It seems to be about 1/10th. I did a test, when I first got the Bramper, from 1/100th but it caused flicker until it got to around 1/10th. I deleted the test a while ago, so I am unable to say exactly. 1/10th works fine though.


Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:37 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie