It is currently Sun Dec 15, 2019 8:13 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 Powering a GoPro for a three month time lapse 
Author Message

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 4:01 pm
Posts: 1
Post Powering a GoPro for a three month time lapse
Long time lurker posting for the first time in these resourceful forums.I've been tasked to record a photo time lapse of a three month construction project with three cameras. The cameras just need to run when the work is happening (9-5pm five days a week).

I'm thinking about using the cam-do scheduler http://cam-do.com/GoProScheduler.html and the cam-do battery eliminator http://cam-do.com/GoProBatteryEliminator.html

Do you have any other ideas on how to approach this one? I am weary of the gopro overheating and also not turning on the next day.

Any input will be apprecaited and thank you for your time.


Fri Nov 22, 2013 4:34 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 10:45 am
Posts: 1685
Location: Merritt Island, Florida, Estates Unitas
Post Re: Powering a GoPro for a three month time lapse
http://www.brinno.com/


Sun Nov 24, 2013 5:56 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:56 am
Posts: 75
Location: Sydney - Australia
Post Re: Powering a GoPro for a three month time lapse
I've used a GoPro HD Version 1 with external intervalometer and external battery for long term time lapse and had a lot of issues with it overheating and crashing. I suspect that this happened because the internal battery is always charging which eventually overheats the sensor which is just on the other side of the thin plastic in the battery compartment. If you could tap directly into the power contacts and not have the battery in there it might work a bit better. As i didn't need a waterproof housing for the job I ended up getting a Canon 1100D. This didn't cost much more than the GoPro, was easy to convert to run from a 12v battery and produced much better and more predictable results.

The other thing to bear in mind is that the lack of manual control on a GoPro means its always a bit of a punt as to what you'll end up with. I have a V3 Silver+ which I use as a C camera for short sequences where I want the camera to be inconspicuous and silent. With an ND attached to slow down the shutter speed it works quite well but its still a bit hit and miss.


Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:59 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie