It is currently Sun Dec 08, 2019 2:12 am

Shutter life on a Canon 550D 

Post Shutter life on a Canon 550D
Hello there !

I've looked in the forums for answers but what I found didn't satisfied me.
I'm having several questions regarding timelapses and shutter life on a Canon 550d !

I've been making timelapses for 2 years now with my 550D and I took approx. 40.000 photos during that time, let's say 30.000 from timelapses and 10.000 from regular photos.
On that period I've been using magic lantern all along, especially for the integrated intervallometer that I always use. All my shots are in RAW.

Until today I never thought I should worry about my shutter life, but... On magic lantern I've been able to see that my 550D shutter is now over 70.000 shots taken, so yeah, now i'm worried ! But there's a few things I haven't understood regarding the shutter and how it can damage itself :

When Canon specify a 'number of shots' for a shutter, I know it's average and can last longer (or not), but what is it referring to ?
Is it the mechanical button we push to take a picture ? (I've seen ppl saying that there shutter were dead and they were able to continue taking photos using the button on a grip.)
Or is it the mechanical part near the mirror ? (I've seen ppl saying we can change the shutter ? Is it possible ?)

I know a lot of ppl worries too much about shutter life, but I do have a huge usage of my DSLR so if I can extend is life a little bit longer... That would be great !
And I don't plan on stopping taking timelapses thought...! Let's hope my 550D will last longer than average, which is 100.000 according to Canon and this database : http://www.olegkikin.com/shutterlife/canon_eos550d.htm
And we can see that there's still ppl that went over 200.000 and even 300.000 shots !

I've read something about 'taking pictures in silent mode' to spare the shutter but I haven't understood how that can help - neither how to do it.
Is there really some 'ways' to spare the shutter ?