It is currently Fri May 25, 2018 4:00 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Frame Jump 
Author Message

Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 7:09 am
Posts: 16
Post Frame Jump
Hello All,

Last night, using a dynamic perception pan and tilt unit, 19:1 motors, I did this lapse. Late in it, there is a frame jump.

The longest part of the exposure is 3.2 seconds and was shot with 10 second intervals on raw (no buffer issue). If the wind was playing, it certainly would have made it move more often. I had the back lash set to 200. Sony A7rii.

Here is a lower res example https://vimeo.com/168209738

Any thoughts why there is a jump?

Thanks for your time.


Thu May 26, 2016 6:00 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:24 pm
Posts: 284
Post Re: Frame Jump
Could have been anything.
Tripod unbalanced, slider unbalanced, something not locked down and shifted...


Fri May 27, 2016 7:38 am
Profile

Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 7:09 am
Posts: 16
Post Re: Frame Jump
I was pretty thorough about that sort of thing, being on the side of a building and all. No slider was used. I will keep testing and see if it repeats.

Thanks,


Mon May 30, 2016 12:59 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:34 pm
Posts: 78
Post Re: Frame Jump
did you go through your pics one at a time to see time code ect


Mon May 30, 2016 7:42 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 5:19 pm
Posts: 54
Post Re: Frame Jump
at frameNumber 307 there are three frames missing.
maybe you have a loose connection on your camera remote cable??


Mon May 30, 2016 9:46 am
Profile

Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 7:09 am
Posts: 16
Post Re: Frame Jump
Hi,

I'll check that.

Wow, Krupptown. Impressive. I'm not very post savvy to work out how you did that from a Vimeo file.

I'm sure there were no 'air gaps'. I'll just double check that next time.

Cheers.


Mon May 30, 2016 5:08 pm
Profile

Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 7:30 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Post Re: Frame Jump
One way to fix it would be to blend the last frame before the skip and the first frame after the skip together. If there are 3 shots missing in between frame 307 and 308 the new series of images would be:


  1. 307.jpg
  2. 307-1.jpg (25% blend of frames 307/308)
  3. 307-2.jpg (50% blend of frames 307/308)
  4. 307-3.jpg (75% blend of frames 307/308)
  5. 308.jpg

_________________
---------------------------------
Len Whistler
http://www.youtube.com/user/LenWhistler


Mon May 30, 2016 5:20 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 7:09 am
Posts: 16
Post Re: Frame Jump
lwhistler wrote:
One way to fix it would be to blend the last frame before the skip and the first frame after the skip together. If there are 3 shots missing in between frame 307 and 308 the new series of images would be:


  1. 307.jpg
  2. 307-1.jpg (25% blend of frames 307/308)
  3. 307-2.jpg (50% blend of frames 307/308)
  4. 307-3.jpg (75% blend of frames 307/308)
  5. 308.jpg


Can I ask what program you use to bend in?

Thanks


Tue Jun 21, 2016 1:33 am
Profile

Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 7:09 am
Posts: 16
Post Re: Frame Jump
Hi,

I've tried again, a few times now. It has happened once more, on one frame only. https://vimeo.com/171547909

I think from memory, I left a 6 second buffer.

Could I be doing too big of pan, or is it the initial ramping I have put in at the start of the move on the controller?

It is frustrating.

Thanks,


Tue Jun 21, 2016 1:38 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie