Timescapes - Digital Timelapse Discussion
http://forum.timescapes.org/phpBB3/

Frame Jump
http://forum.timescapes.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=13262
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Red Sock [ Thu May 26, 2016 6:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Frame Jump

Hello All,

Last night, using a dynamic perception pan and tilt unit, 19:1 motors, I did this lapse. Late in it, there is a frame jump.

The longest part of the exposure is 3.2 seconds and was shot with 10 second intervals on raw (no buffer issue). If the wind was playing, it certainly would have made it move more often. I had the back lash set to 200. Sony A7rii.

Here is a lower res example https://vimeo.com/168209738

Any thoughts why there is a jump?

Thanks for your time.

Author:  scotchtape [ Fri May 27, 2016 7:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Frame Jump

Could have been anything.
Tripod unbalanced, slider unbalanced, something not locked down and shifted...

Author:  Red Sock [ Mon May 30, 2016 12:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Frame Jump

I was pretty thorough about that sort of thing, being on the side of a building and all. No slider was used. I will keep testing and see if it repeats.

Thanks,

Author:  TIMETRAVELER [ Mon May 30, 2016 7:42 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Frame Jump

did you go through your pics one at a time to see time code ect

Author:  kruppTown [ Mon May 30, 2016 9:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Frame Jump

at frameNumber 307 there are three frames missing.
maybe you have a loose connection on your camera remote cable??

Author:  Red Sock [ Mon May 30, 2016 5:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Frame Jump

Hi,

I'll check that.

Wow, Krupptown. Impressive. I'm not very post savvy to work out how you did that from a Vimeo file.

I'm sure there were no 'air gaps'. I'll just double check that next time.

Cheers.

Author:  lwhistler [ Mon May 30, 2016 5:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Frame Jump

One way to fix it would be to blend the last frame before the skip and the first frame after the skip together. If there are 3 shots missing in between frame 307 and 308 the new series of images would be:


  1. 307.jpg
  2. 307-1.jpg (25% blend of frames 307/308)
  3. 307-2.jpg (50% blend of frames 307/308)
  4. 307-3.jpg (75% blend of frames 307/308)
  5. 308.jpg

Author:  Red Sock [ Tue Jun 21, 2016 1:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Frame Jump

lwhistler wrote:
One way to fix it would be to blend the last frame before the skip and the first frame after the skip together. If there are 3 shots missing in between frame 307 and 308 the new series of images would be:


  1. 307.jpg
  2. 307-1.jpg (25% blend of frames 307/308)
  3. 307-2.jpg (50% blend of frames 307/308)
  4. 307-3.jpg (75% blend of frames 307/308)
  5. 308.jpg


Can I ask what program you use to bend in?

Thanks

Author:  Red Sock [ Tue Jun 21, 2016 1:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Frame Jump

Hi,

I've tried again, a few times now. It has happened once more, on one frame only. https://vimeo.com/171547909

I think from memory, I left a 6 second buffer.

Could I be doing too big of pan, or is it the initial ramping I have put in at the start of the move on the controller?

It is frustrating.

Thanks,

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/