Timescapes - Digital Timelapse Discussion
http://forum.timescapes.org/phpBB3/

Looking for an app to take pictures from the same spot again
http://forum.timescapes.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=13216
Page 1 of 1

Author:  flocsy [ Tue Apr 12, 2016 2:39 am ]
Post subject:  Looking for an app to take pictures from the same spot again

Hi,

we're starting to build our new house soon. It'll take around a year and I'd like to create a timelapse video. Unfortunately I can't fix my camera there, so I'll just go every week once-twice and try to take a picture from the same spot. Although I have a Nikon 5100, I thought that maybe for this project I'll try to find some android app that helps me to position my phone's camera into the same position every week. Is there such an app available?

In my imagination the app would enable me to open an existing image full screen, showing the old image as a "frame" but in the middle I would see what the camera is capturing right now, so I could match them as close as possible and then shoot.

Thanks in advance,

Flocsy

Author:  Strikeph [ Wed Jun 15, 2016 8:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Looking for an app to take pictures from the same spot a

I'd get a simple phone mount that I could leave attached, then just clip it in each visit, take the shots, then unclip. You could do the same with a QR camera clamp, to mount a DSLR.

Author:  geraldft [ Fri Jun 17, 2016 5:54 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Looking for an app to take pictures from the same spot a

Agree with strikeph. A simple stake in the ground will be more accurate than any app could ever hope for... :)

Author:  greenbean [ Fri Jun 17, 2016 7:57 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Looking for an app to take pictures from the same spot a

DigiCam Control is Windows only, so it would require a laptop, but it has onion skin (transparent overlay) with live-view, which makes lining up the next shot perfect. http://digicamcontrol.com/

Author:  geraldft [ Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Looking for an app to take pictures from the same spot a

Actually Olympus OMD EM5 Mk2 (maybe EM1 also) has an overlay feature built in. You can select a previously shot image and use it in 50% mix to align your camera. :) In post you'll still need to use some software to align more perfectly, but can be done.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/