It is currently Sat Aug 15, 2020 11:56 am

Road trip time lapse 

Post Road trip time lapse
Greetings all! I'm a newbie, not only to this forum, but to photography in general. A friend and I are taking a coast to coast road trip in July and are hoping to time lapse the entire trip, similar to this:

The camera we are using is a Ricoh R10. It has a built in interval meter. Some of the road blocks we are running into is that the minimum interval the camera does is 5 seconds. Also, the camera doesn't have an AC adapter port, so we are researching adapters.

Also, we are trying to figure out what settings to use for this. Our plan is to keep the camera running 24 hours a day.

Any help is gratefully appreciated. We aren't planning on making anything professional, just something fun we can share on youtube, facebook and with family and friends.

Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:59 am

Post Re: Road trip time lapse
Do you care anything about the impression you leave on your audience or are you must documenting the trip?
People won't sit through an endless rush of images unless they are forced or unless you have a story to tell. There is a difference between filmmaking and, umm, something similar to abuse.

If you do not have the time to learn neither the craft of photography nor the art of filmmaking, just hang a cheap point and shoot camera from the roof that will support intervalometer shooting, set it to auto, and forget about it. However, you should practice on a few long drives to see if you can handle the technical parts of operating the camera (setting the intervalometer and changing batteries and swapping cards without disturbing the shot) and then decide if there's a reason you really want to do this.

bogiesan

Tue Jun 15, 2010 8:34 am