It is currently Sat Aug 15, 2020 11:39 am

touching the cam 

Post touching the cam
I'm new to TL. I'm shooting on a 30D. I'm wondering if there is anything you can generally "get away with" when it comes to touching the camera during the shoot. I.E. changing a battery on my grip or changing a CF card. Would having a great tripod make a difference in what I can get away with? Or is it HANDSOFF! ? thanks.

Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:31 pm

Post Re: touching the cam
Generally speaking, hands off.
Avoid all temptation to touch or move or re-frame the shot once it is going.
Walk away and leave it until time is up... and then leave it some more.

Having said that, a really solid tripod helps if you REALLY have to.

Twitter Instagram Google+
Facebook Facebook Movie Page

Tue Aug 10, 2010 8:15 pm

jawsborne wrote:
I'm new to TL. I'm shooting on a 30D. I'm wondering if there is anything you can generally "get away with" when it comes to touching the camera during the shoot. I.E. changing a battery on my grip or changing a CF card. Would having a great tripod make a difference in what I can get away with? Or is it HANDSOFF! ? thanks.

I don't think there is anything that you can 'generally get away with' because it will always depend on several factors. Such as;

1/ rigidity of your tripod
2/ the tripod head, there are many different kinds, some better, some worse
3/ how the camera attaches to the tripod head, some cameras have flimsy tripod sockets in plastic camera bodies, not very confidence inspiring...
4/ how wide the lens is on the camera (tele lenses shake in the breeze much less when the camera is touched whilst wide angle lenses are very forgiving)
5/ your own personal standards and what you are willing to accept or fix in post

The most I would normally be willing to do is alter the shutter speed using the dial on the camera. Anything more than that and you start to risk moving the camera but again, it depends many factors.

JJ

Tue Aug 10, 2010 8:20 pm