It is currently Sat Aug 15, 2020 11:45 am

Hello! Help with Settings 

Post Hello! Help with Settings
Hi
Great forum! lots of helpful info!

I'm new to timelapse and i've done a lot of reading about it recently.
I'm basically planning on going camping tonight in the middle of nowhere, with no ambient light to ruin my shot, and a new moon too, im just hoping it will stay clear so i can get a nice long timelapse of the night sky.

I'm using a Nikon D300 but don't have a timer yet, so im using the interval timer setting in the menu.
I would like to know a few things that might help me get better results.

- Do i use manual or Aperture mode?
- How do i get the stars + foreground in focus when you can't see anything through the viewfinder?
- Why is it important to turn auto WB off, and what WB setting should i use?
- Is it best to use 30 sec exposure with 1 min interval? or 15 sec exp with 30 sec interval? or any other values?
- I've heard mixed info about ISO settings, some people use shorter exposures with high ISO (like 3200) I've also heard its best to use low ISO.
- What resolution is best to use? L, M or S (does it matter?)
- How can you shoot in RAW and process hundreds of images before you open them in image sequence? should i just shoot in Jpeg fine?
- Any particular place in the sky to focus on? ie the north star? or any other area of celestial interest?

Any other information which will yield better results would be greatly appreciated.
Just hope the skys stay clear!!

Regards
Matt

Sat Sep 04, 2010 4:31 am

Post Re: Hello! Help with Settings
Slebs11 wrote:
I'm new to timelapse and i've done a lot of reading about it recently.
I'm basically planning on going camping tonight in the middle of nowhere, with no ambient light to ruin my shot, and a new moon too, im just hoping it will stay clear so i can get a nice long timelapse of the night sky.

Awesome.... :)

I'm still learning about this as well, but perhaps I could offer a few suggestions...

Slebs11 wrote: