It is currently Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:23 am

First setup and a pretty big one too 

Post First setup and a pretty big one too
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to this lark, even after years of working as a commercial photographer I had to gulp a little when I was asked if I could make a timelapse that would be recorded during a full year.

I asked around a bit, googled and pulled as much info from the net as I could, however most of the info I found was aimed more at the type of artistic timelapses that cover the landing page of this site. Much less for long-term industrial situations.

Anyway, to cut it short, I had a very short period of time to research, quote and set up the recording gear. The situation is a large automotive factory that's making internal changes, knock-down and re-build of robotic welding installations. I chose for DSLRS, Canon 1000D's in fact. As there are a lot of areas to be covered I opted to install 4 cameras. Each one tethered and controlled by it's own PC. Some of the cameras will run for months, others a week or 2 before being moved to a new viewpoint or location within the factory.
Just about the best part of this setup is that I can log into the clients network, view, check and control each of the cameras. All images are stored locally so I can either remotely download them or during my regular visits to the plane, dump them onto a portable hard drive.

The end goal is that I can produce several short videos, mixed with timelapse, video interviews and reportage images that I shoot on the factory floor.

I'm very curious, so far the short clips I've rendered have gone down well with the client. I'm hoping such a long exposure product will be very rewarding at the end of 2011.

Regards,
Rob.

Sat Jan 22, 2011 2:58 am

Post Re: First setup and a pretty big one too
That sounds great and congratulations on such a "fun" project ;)

Will it be possible for you to show this work when it's done or will it be limited by the company?