It is currently Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:23 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
 Is there software that will 'morph' between two pictures 
Author Message

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:34 am
Posts: 7
Post Is there software that will 'morph' between two pictures
Hi

I have a lovely flower time lapse going on in a small fish tank.
It's being running for 3 days and nights, 5 min 30sec intervals and already looks great..I wasn’t sure of end time, so I went with this interval.

It was going perfect!!!
BUT
Today, I decided I should pour a little water on the flowers :o
So result is:
Shock horror, as gentle as I was, when I opened the tank, I must have disturbed some background ferns that were touching off the lid and now there is a significant JUMP in the background between the 2 pictures :oops:

Looks terrible.

I tried to rearrange, but it never works. Lesson learned, never go into the room!!!!

The time lapse will run for another 24 hours.
I can not shoot again, as I can't tie the camera up for that long again.

Is there any software that will ease the transition from one jpg to another?
i.e. a Morph tool, that can add in some other pics and gently phase between the old and new pics?

Or is there another method to tease out the jump.
The whole scene is set to look like a forest floor and the background and main subject is constantly growing so I don’t think ‘stabilise’ will work.
Thanks in advance for your advice
Katrina


Tue Apr 12, 2011 1:56 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 6:07 am
Posts: 629
Location: Sydney
Post Re: Is there software that will 'morph' between two pictures
You could try to cross dissolve or fade in an editing program like final cut. It would still look like 2 separate clips though

Owen

_________________
Cinematographer & Time-lapse Photographer
http://www.driftwoodcinema.com


Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:25 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:34 am
Posts: 7
Post Re: Is there software that will 'morph' between two pictures
Thanks Owen
I've being thinking since that I might try it manually in Adobe...
Make 10 pics the same as the first one and manually moving up the ferns and moss in the background until both pics are the same
Maybe crazy


Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:37 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 6:07 am
Posts: 629
Location: Sydney
Post Re: Is there software that will 'morph' between two pictures
Yeh i have never had to do anything like that. It sounds difficult though.
Goodluck

_________________
Cinematographer & Time-lapse Photographer
http://www.driftwoodcinema.com


Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:22 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:36 pm
Posts: 1787
Location: Antarctica/California/New Zealand
Post Re: Is there software that will 'morph' between two pictures
In Adobe editing you can interpolate frames to generate in between ones.
Use the time stretch tool in pixel motion mode, but apply it only to the two frames in question and stretch then out by a few frames.

_________________
Anthony Powell
"Antarctica: A Year On Ice" Feature Film
Vimeo Youtube Photos
Twitter Instagram Google+
Facebook Facebook Movie Page


Tue Apr 12, 2011 7:49 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 6:17 am
Posts: 7
Post Re: Is there software that will 'morph' between two pictures
a little bit of after-effects magic should do it - to me it does not sound too complicated as long as you are familiar with after effects, masks and retouching

there are also plugins for after effects [like revisions RE:flex that i can recommend], but to me it does not sound too complicated without a plugin...

15 years ago i did things like this in photoshop as well, and it worked...

if you have an extended version pf photoshop you also should be able to do some rotoscoping...

you just need a little bit of patience ;)


Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:25 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 1:34 am
Posts: 7
Post Re: Is there software that will 'morph' between two pictures
Hi Las
Thanks for your suggestions
I havn't had a chance to look at the peoblem at all yet, however the rest of the time lapse is cool, so I will be trying to save it from this one glitch.

What versions or suite of Adobe offer these tools.

We use FCP for editing, I only have Adobe Photoshop 6, which I only have used on stills. I guess you've got the creative family?

I'm going a bit time-lapse mad at the moment, I might need therapy to get off it :geek: :twisted: :lol:

Have you lads ever used the Varicam interval recording.
I have one time-lapse going on recording, 1frame every 5 mins. It's going well, but does it add fierce hours to the camera usage.

Thanks
Katrina


Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:16 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 201
Location: Miles City, Montana
Post Re: Is there software that will 'morph' between two pictures
I don't have a good suggestion but hope that others will. I've done a bit of deep t-l work and the projects can leave scars when bumps, etc. happen... I feel your pain. Not sure where you're headed with this but you might want to try using some sort of natural editing transition at the point where the change takes place to divert attention away from it... For example, you might start in with a really tight shot (cropping down image in AE) then fading out to the same sequence with wider perspective. You could also fool with changing the duration of the sequence before the break vs. following. This isn't ideal but might help cover up the error. Again, I don't know where you're headed with this but find that 97% of lay people are not anywhere near as critical of these types of issues as the creators. ;)

_________________
http://vimeo.com/user1477834/videos
Canon, Arduino, AE, etc.


Tue May 24, 2011 6:44 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 31, 2012 3:16 pm
Posts: 28
Post Re: Is there software that will 'morph' between two pictures
I had a program called morph - mac OS 9 - I don't know if it still exists , but it worked .
I used it for jokes mainly - slender women before marriage to 300 lb after . Guy with black hair to bald white .
I would do a search on ebay - morph vista , windows 7 , OS 10 etc . nothing shows up , save search .

_________________
I'm new here so bear with me and suggest anything you think I might be wrong about .


Sun Jun 17, 2012 7:45 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie