It is currently Sun Feb 28, 2021 11:28 am

Need faster render times. More CPU, GPU, RAM? 

Post Need faster render times. More CPU, GPU, RAM?
I'm currently tearing my hair out with the tediously slow task of rendering out lots of clips in 4k and 6k with Prores on Windows.

I need more power and speed but I'm unsure of the best way to achieve that for my pay grade.

If I buy a monster graphics card will that help with rendering out time lapse sequences in or would it only improve RAM previews?

Right now I'm running a fairly souped up ASUS PC which is about medium level gamer spec. I've heard good things about those new monster
HP desktops that help with video editing but I'd rather just upgrade what I've got. Can anyone tell me which hardware elements are most
essential for fast rendering of time lapse sequences? Where would my money be better spent?

Thanks in advance.

Wed Jul 30, 2014 5:10 pm

Post Re: Need faster render times. More CPU, GPU, RAM?
I'm no expert but I would imagine RAM should be top of your shopping list... I say that from a background of 3d graphics, not 2d / compositing so take it with a pinch of salt and do some more research.

With such large frames I would imagine your computer is having to use your hard drive as virtual memory. Its called paging... when the computer has to swap out chucks of memory from the RAM to the HD. Its extremely slow, and obviously the more RAM you have the less this happens. You could check this is actually happening by using the Task Manager (I think... I've not used windows for quite some time) while you are rendering.

Hope that helps,
David.

Thu Jul 31, 2014 1:37 am