It is currently Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:12 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Flicker GoPro d/t White Balance 
Author Message

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:17 pm
Posts: 3
Post Flicker GoPro d/t White Balance
On my trip to the south west of USA I used also the GoPro Hero3 black for time lapses.
The big problem is: everything is automatic - at least at that time I couldn't set the White Balance to CamRaw for Photos (and CamRaw sets anyway the WB automatically) .
This means that I get deflicker even after the two-pass deflicker method with LRTimelapse. I suppose that the deflicker in this case is due to the automatic changing of the color temperature settings during the time lapse. It doesn't seem to be an exposure flickering.
Looking at the curves in LRTimelapse they seem to be ok but when I export the film with the LRT templates it flickers and the color space of the film seems to be different to the edited Jpegs in LR.
Also noticing that in the second half of the film (the last 10 seconds) there are no flickering issues.
Does anybody has an idea how to solve the problem? Are there magic plug-ins for WB deflickering? I

Here is the link to the exported film http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k_hEVORus3k



Thanks!


Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:08 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:48 pm
Posts: 1144
Post Re: Flicker GoPro d/t White Balance
your youtube link is broken

tt

_________________
Please check out how to embed a Vimeo link.
Tim T


Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:51 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:17 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: Flicker GoPro d/t White Balance
thanks, here is the link again

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k_hEVORus3k


Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:55 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:48 pm
Posts: 1144
Post Re: Flicker GoPro d/t White Balance
there is a page that has info about the GoPro White Balance setting - hope this helps: goPRO white balance setting

tt

_________________
Please check out how to embed a Vimeo link.
Tim T


Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:03 am
Profile

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:17 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: Flicker GoPro d/t White Balance
Thanks, yes I know the settings. BUT it applies only to video files, not the jpegs. And this CamRaw update came only after I took the lapse. By the way, I tested it. The GoPro still makes jpegs so I am not sure if the GoPro people know what RAW means....


Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:08 am
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:48 pm
Posts: 1144
Post Re: Flicker GoPro d/t White Balance
oh I get you - that sucks.

tt

_________________
Please check out how to embed a Vimeo link.
Tim T


Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:01 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie