It is currently Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:06 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
 EOS Utility stops too often on 1,5 year time-lapse 
Author Message

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:21 pm
Posts: 12
Post EOS Utility stops too often on 1,5 year time-lapse
dear Folks,


I have a Canon 5D mark2 , it's rigged in a metal box (looks like a unit they use in Holland for flashing speedy cars on the highway), I have it connected to a MacBookAir (connected through 20 meters of network cable). software I use is Eos Utility.
Every twenty minutes the software is taking a picture.

So far so good. In the beginning the system was quite okay, but occasionally it stopped, that's to say, I could see that the software mentioned the camera wasn't 'connected'.
Sometimes all I have to do is (from a Logmein connection) restart the Shooting Menu from the Eos Utility. Lately the system lets me down very often.
Today I had to retstart the camera, what surprises me is that sometimes when I want to power off the camera it says that it is 'busy', as if it tries to empty it's memory. When I power it of long enough it starts acting normal and then I can get the software to work.

I am afraid that it;'s gonna be difficult to solve this problem, but does anybody recognises this problem?

OSX is 10.8.4


Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:49 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:02 am
Posts: 160
Location: France / Canada
Post Re: EOS Utility stops too often on 1,5 year time-lapse
We just completed a 2 years project using a 5D MII and never had any camera issues.

When you say network cable to connect the camera to the macbook air, I assume you mean USB cable, correct ?

Here are a few suggestions:
- Try with a shorter USB cable (like 2m max)
- Try to run on a lightweight OS, only keep on you OS what is necessary for this particular task (linux is a good bet).

_________________
Ultra high definition timelapse solutions for photographers - Webcampak.com - Demo (demo/omed)


Sun Apr 13, 2014 4:16 pm
Profile

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 12:21 pm
Posts: 12
Post Re: EOS Utility stops too often on 1,5 year time-lapse
Problems are getting worse

I can not shorten the cable, because the distance is high, I don't this this has to do with the problem, as it is stopping on a daily base now.

I have the feeling it is the camera or the software.

Strange thing is that I have to unpower the camera and power it again, before I can get it to work in te EOS Utility software


Fri May 02, 2014 12:57 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore. pozycjonowanie