Timescapes - Digital Timelapse Discussion
https://forum.timescapes.org/phpBB3/

need help for longtimelapse with automatic picture download
https://forum.timescapes.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=12736
Page 1 of 1

Author:  ratzupaltuff [ Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:50 pm ]
Post subject:  need help for longtimelapse with automatic picture download

Hi there,
I am not that new to timelapses, but I have a problem doing the following:

I have a birds nest right in front of my window.
I want to do a longtimelapse for about 5 weeks AND I want to access the pictures directly after taking to upload them on the birds webcam page.
I tried to use an old Powershot A710is with CHDK and a timelapse script. I use an Eyefi 4GB Card and external power supply.
The camera takes a picture every 60 seconds and the card uploads that picture via Wifi to my desktop PC.
That worked quite nice for about 2 days- then something went wrong and the picture transfer stopped.
Unfortunately the 4GB Eyefi-Card doesn't allow autostart capture when powering. This has to do with some CHDK limitations.

The second option would be using a Gopro 3 Hero BE.
The camera is located inside, so I could use external power supply for the Gopro by leaving the housing away.
BUT I could not find a way to make the Gopro take pictures every 60 seconds and then access the pictures either via wifi or by connecting it to an old laptop, although the power supply will probably not be strong enough.
I found http://cam-do.com/ who offer hard- and software bundles to power the Gopro on, take a picture, allow access to the taken picture, download it and delete it after that from the internal sd-card.
Does anyone have an idea for me? I need to hurry up before the chicks come out of there eggs ! :-)

I put the first days picture together for a first test.

https://youtu.be/mDZK-6MO3bM

Greetz,
Tim

Author:  TIMETRAVELER [ Tue Apr 28, 2015 9:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: need help for longtimelapse with automatic picture downl

just swap out cards every day?

Author:  ratzupaltuff [ Tue Apr 28, 2015 11:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: need help for longtimelapse with automatic picture downl

Every time you swap the card th camera position will be changed.
But most notably I can not access the camera that is positioned in about 2 meters height- I am handicaped and can not stand up for a second.
Therefore the system should be reliable..

Author:  chardie [ Wed Apr 29, 2015 1:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: need help for longtimelapse with automatic picture downl

there are scripts that you can install on the go pro's i looked at them briefly a couple of nights ago you might have to google it i didn't bookmark anything seemed to be a bunch scripts available for the gopro 1,2,3 + and you can tailor them to suit your needs. not much for the gopro 4 silver which is what i have.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/